Visitors to Iran must obtain a visa from one of the Iranian diplomatic missions unless they come from one of the visa exempt countries or countries eligible for a visa on arrival. All visitors must hold a passport valid for at least 6 months. Admission is refused to women not wearing Islamic head cover, scarf, long sleeves and stockings. Citizens of Israel are totally banned from entry to Iran.

Iranian authorities are exploring a potential visa waiver program under which visa limitations for 60 countries will be lifted as part of Iran's program to attract more tourists.

Dual citizens of both Iran and another country count as citizens of Iran when visiting, and must have an Iranian passport. This includes all whose mother and father and husband or children born abroad are Iranian.

Iran no longer affixes visas to passports nor stamps them on entry as a response to the US sanctions on persons who have visited Iran after 2011. In November 2018, the head of Iran’s Cultural Heritage, Handicrafts, and Tourism Organization (ICHTO), announced that the country will no longer stamp or put stickers to passports of foreign tourists in a bid to ease their concerns about travelling to other countries after leaving Iran. In June 2019 President of Iran ordered the Interior Ministry to implement the decision on not stamping passports of foreigners.



Citizens of the following 14 jurisdictions can visit Iran without a visa:

  • Armenia
  • Syria
  • Turkey

  • Azerbaijan
  • Bolivia
  • Lebanon
  • Oman

  • China - 21 Days
  • Egypt - 20 Days
  • Georgia - 45 Days
  • Hong Kong - 21 Days
  • Macau - 21 Days
  • Malacia - 15 Days
  • Venezuela - 15 Days



Holders of normal passports travelling as tourists can obtain a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 30 days (extendable), at the following airports, as of January 2018: 

  • Bandar Abbas International Airport (Bandar Abbas);
  • Isfahan International Airport (Isfahan);
  • Kish International Airport (Kish Island);
  • Mashhad International Airport (Mashad);
  • Qeshm international Airport (Qeshm Island);
  • Larestan International Airport (Lar);
  • Shiraz International Airport (Shiraz);
  • Tabriz International Airport (Tabriz);
  • Imam Khomeini International Airport (Tehran);
  • Mehrabad International Airport (Tehran);
  • Urmia Airport (Urmia);
  • Ahvaz International Airport (Ahvaz);
  • Kerman Airport (Kerman).

Note: to obtain a visa on arrival, passengers must already have made an application, at least 2 days prior to arrival, at the Iranian Ministry of Foreign Affair's E-Visa website and present the submission notification at the airport's visa desk on arrival



Iran E-visas have been available since 22 November 2018. The E-visa can be used at any border crossing, and is granted for tourism and business.

Holders of passports of the following countries or territories can obtain e-Visa online to arrival for a maximum stay of 30 days.

UK, Canadian and US citizens are required to be escorted by a government approved guide at all times. Independent travel for these citizens has been banned due to the closure of Iranian foreign missions in these countries.

Admission and transit is refused for nationals of Israel, even if not leaving the aircraft and proceeding by the same flight.

Admission is refused to holders of passports or travel documents containing an Israeli visa or stamp (less than 365 days) or any data showing that visitor has been to Israel or indication of any connection with the state of Israel.



Last updated on October 20